In which our intrepid hero wonders how much longer he can quietly criticise his imperial overlords.

I’ve already had my bitch about the new proposed terror laws in this post, but what do Labor have to say on the issue? This article in the Sydney Morning Herald outlines the ALP response: not tough enough, apparently. To quote:

Under the Opposition’s plan announced yesterday, the extraordinary powers could be executed on the basis of "credible intelligence" only, and without seeking judicial approval.

Mr Beazley called for police commissioners to be allowed to lock down an area if intelligence suggested a terrorist act was imminent or terrorists had struck.

Police could search people, vehicles and premises in the target area, demand proof of a person’s identity, confiscate items, tow away vehicles, and prevent people removing or interfering with objects.

You’d think that the federal Opposition might actually supply opposition to the Government’s suggested infringements of personal liberty. Apparently not, though; Beazley has to play the political game and try to out-tyrannise the electorate.

Personally, I don’t see much point in voting for minor parties; at an election, I have my choice of Liberal or Labor: abolition of civil liberties or downright oppression. Now matter which option I take, I’m going to get screwed; there’s not much to differentiate them these days on civil liberty.

Kodos: As overlord, all will kneel trembling before me and obey my brutal commands.

Kang: It makes no difference which one of us you vote for. Either way, your planet is doomed. DOOMED!

I don’t think that I’m the only one who worries about this. One day, someone else who does—someone a fair bit crazier than myself—might take it upon themselves to do something about it, and a lot of innocent people could die.

On that note, I’d like to cite a quote, attributed to philosopher Karl Popper:

We must plan for freedom, and not only for security, if for no other reason than only freedom can make security more secure.

There aren’t any elections (federal, state or local) in NSW for another couple of years. I hope I can still vote when 2007 comes around.

