In which our intrepid hero remembers a valuable lesson on isomorphism in rhetoric.

I was browsing randomly through my RSS feeds, when I came across a header for an interesting report in the Asia/Pacific section of the Washington Post:

Signaling a deepening split with one of the United States’ closest allies in the war on terrorism, Secretary of State Condoleezza Rice rebuked [Country] on Monday for spurning appeals from abroad on human rights and called the [Capital City] government "out of step" with political trends in the rest of [Region].

Fill in the blanks. If you answered Australia, Canberra and Oceania, then you’d be wrong. That’s what I first read when I skimmed over it in my sleep-deprived state.

They’re actually Uzbekistan, Tashkent and Central Asia, respectively.

But it’s Uzbekistan—so who cares? It’s not like we Australians spurn human rights appeals from abroad or anything. We’re not out of touch, are we? And it’s not as if we’re close allies of the United States, huh? Let me think on that…

Does anyone know if Condy likes chocolates?

