In which our intrepid hero gives a brief introduction to his WoAdWriMo project.

Now that I’ve got my backlog of posts out of the way, I thought I should give a quick rundown of my WoAdWriMo submission. WoAdWriMo officially started on Friday; I haven’t had a chance to do too much work on it yet, but I had some notes jotted down. All in all, I think I have about 4000 words in the bag.

Normally, I’d be happy to unload my thoughts here, but given that Myth-Weavers are doing play-by-post conversions of WoAdWriMo adventures, I’m reticent to reveal too much. I’d prefer to leave my finished work in the hands Treasure Tables and Myth-Weavers, with the option of hosting it on my own static site sometime down the track (if I ever get around to having one again).

Anyway, it’s an adventure for D&D 3.5, and it’s called Chaddma’s Legacy. Like many poorly written adventures, it begins in a tavern—but the village comes under attack whilst the PCs are there. It features guerilla warfare, a ghost story and urban intrigue. More on these themes in later posts.

I chose D&D because it’s common. I suppose I could’ve chosen a system like Tribe 8 or Unknown Armies, or one available online, but I figure that if two-thirds of gamers out there play D&D, then it’s much easier for GMs to implement a D&D adventure. Chaddma’s Legacy won’t require a huge learning curve, which otherwise might turn off some players and GMs.

Although I own (I guess) 15-20 linear feet of D&D books, I’m well aware that not everybody does, and in any case, it’s not fair to expect a GM to lug 10kg or more of manuals around so they can run it. Therefore, I’ve tried to keep the required books to a minimum:

  • the Player’s Handbook;
  • the Dungeon Master’s Guide;
  • the Monster Manual;
  • the Expanded Psionics Handbook; and
  • Green Ronin’s Advanced Bestiary.

As a real minimalist option, everything needed to run it can be found in the SRD, except for a handful of templates from the Advanced Bestiary; the latter will be figured into the stat blocks, so not even that book would be absolutely necessary.

Psionics-hating GMs should note that the adventure isn’t that heavy on psionics, either. One of the NPCs is best modelled using the psionics rules, but that’s about it.

Anyway, I guess that’s it for the moment. I need to get some more of this thing down on the page.

