I hope this finds everyone well and having a great easter break…

We have had an eventful week here,

We started off by making the plans to head to Sydney for our wonderful friends Claire and Dan’s wedding next weekend…

I hear through the FB grapevine that Claire has now gotten sick a week before the wedding… honey please take it easy and get well, lots of rest, vitamins and fluids… you are a great organiser and a talented designer with a wonderful sense of style… all these things combined mean it will be wonderful and go off without a hitch, so try to relax and enjoy!

So the weekly ritual out here is to head into Cowra and do the shopping either on Tuesday or Wednesday, this week we went in on Tuesday…all good, when we were coming home I noticed a noise coming from the engine bay… was not too worried at that stage, all the gauges were fine and nothing felt funny, but as I turned into our street the steering felt really weird…. OH BUMMER!!!! being only 100mtrs or so from home I kept going, turned into the drive and the power steering failed… *insert expletive here*… so popped the bonnet to find power steering fluid everywhere, not good… filled up the unit and could not find the leak, so got it in the yard and waited for Wednesday…

Got up early Wednesday and called the NRMA… as we live so far from town it was around 12.30pm when he arrived, had a look, shook his head and said those dreaded words “tow truck”.

It turns out not only has the power steering failed and there is a leak “somewhere” but the harmonic drive is falling off too, so it could have been so much worse than it was, if it had come off whilst driving and gone through the radiator etc, well you can imagine the disaster that could have been…

So the wonderful Steve from NRMA drove me into town so I could pick up a hire car for the day and do 2 weeks worth of shopping and do the jobs we needed to get done as we are now stranded out here with no car.

We had to drop the hire car back yesterday as there is no way I could have afforded to keep it over easter, I am on a disability pension and Dave is on a carers pension so money is always tight here… We caught the school bus home for the grand price of $2 each, as the local Taxi service has quoted us $60 minimum EACH WAY to get to town… the hire car was only $88 a day… and now that it is school holidays there is no other bus for 2 weeks… There is not even a countrylink service out here to Billimari and no corner shop either…

I dropped by Barnes, the mechanic in town just to introduce myself and get an idea of where things stood… they were lovely people and assured me all would be well and they will drop the car back out to us when it is repaired if we could drop them back to town. It should be ready by Wednesday… I nearly cried with relief, we did not know what we were going to do… If their mechanic is as good as their customer service I will be singing their praises to everyone I can. I am still terrified of the bill, but it will all work out I am sure.

unfortunately the house in town is still not ready to occupy yet, although we now have hot water, YAY, all it needed was the pipes/valve cleaned as they were blocked from all the scale we have in the water out here… and the carpets will be done the weekend of the 10th and the painting should be nearly finished by then too… Liz is coming out around the 9th and will be staying in town to deal with the carpets… with any luck we will be able to catch up with her while she is here. Trying to liaise to get keys to here etc has been fun, but is now under control.

If we had a way to get us, some furniture and the cats to town I would stay in there until the car drama is over, but we just don’t have a way to do it right now… Oh well, as I said, it will all work out in the end…

On a WONDERFUL high note though, We got a call whilst waiting for the school bus yesterday. When we were moving out here in December Dave applied for a customer service role with Centrelink. Sadly he did not get that role, but the manager called yesterday to offer him some temp work, the poor man had to talk to me though as Dave was unable to hear after going to the doctors to have his ear syringed to remove some buildup after a recent ear infection, I was a little worried when they used a drenching gun, but it seemed to be a rather effective tool for the job… anyway, they will chat next Tuesday and Dave will probably start ASAP, now all I have to do is work out a way to get him there and home… hopefully the car will be back in time.

We will find a way to get to that wedding regardless of the car drama, and can’t wait to see the beautiful bride and handsome groom…

enough from me for now… I might see if I feel up to another post a bit later with a recipe for the Salmon Rissoles I am doing for dinner… YUMMO!

Take care and stay safe.

M

