Masks of NyarlathotepMim is the karaoke queen. Though her thyroid has nerfed her singing voice, she’s still managed to warble her way into Rising Star Karaoke’s grand final. But to get her there, we’ve been putting in long Friday nights in the tune mines at Chatswood RSL.

We usually don’t get home till around 4am, though, and that means that I’ve been too tired to play D&D4e at Blacktown Games Day this month. I probably won’t make it back until Winterfest, and of course, I haven’t been around to GM as I promised last post. Both suck greatly.

On the other hand, I’ve signed up for a weekly Call of Cthulhu game at Ministry of Game at St Ives, which is a hell of a long way to travel, but hey, it’s Call of Cthulhu.

What’s more, it’s the classic campaign Masks of Nyarlathotep. I ran the first scene for a group about a decade ago, before the group imploded, and I’ve been waiting on The Masks of Nyarlathotep Companion before I try it again. But I’ve also longed to play the damn thing for almost 20 years, and it looks like I might finally get the chance. Understandably, I’m very, very excited at the prospect.

Apart from that, not much to report. I’ve been too busy running around and studying and settling in, sadly, to write the scenario I’d hoped to enter into Chaosium’s Halloween Adventure Contest. It’ll either have to wait for next year or find its way into a monograph to see the light of day; it’s pretty intrinsically tied into Chaosium’s Lovecraft Country supplements, and it’s not the kind of thing I could sell to another publisher like Miskatonic River Press.

I’m (glacially) gathering research materials for another monograph, but it’s such a huge undertaking that it could well be years before I can even start writing it. By then, though, Scrivener for Windows should be stable and feature-laden enough to take on the task.

And that’s about it. On the subject of games, though, I’d like point you towards Asylum: Exit Australia, a web-based simulation of the travails of a refugee suffers when seeking a safe, new home.

TV network SBS commissioned the game to support their series Go Back to Where You Came From (which I’ve not seen yet, but intend to as soon as I can make time). Design house Chocolate Liberation Front—how’s that for a name!—has obviously put a lot of thought and effort into the game’s design. Although its production quality is impeccable, I hesitate to call it good; I think harrowing is a more accurate assessment. Nevertheless, go play it now.

